Monday, November 29, 2010

Book Review: CITY OF BONES by Cassandra Clare

Author: Cassandra Clare
Pages: 454
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry
Release Date: March 27th, 2007
Genre: Young Adult
Rating: 5 stars!

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder - much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It's hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing - not even a smear of blood - to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know....

City of Bones is the first book of The Mortal Instruments, a Young Adult urban fantasy series, as well as Cassandra Clare’s first full length novel.

Two words. Absolutely brilliant! Cassandra Clare should definitely be called the Queen of YA!

Clare is such a talented writer. She wrote the story with such intricate details thus creating a whole new world filled with Shadowhunters, Demons and Downworlders. The premise is absolutely unique, I have never read anything quite like it.

CITY OF BONES is about 15-year old Clary Fray who has beleived all her life that she is just a normal teenage but when she witnesses a murder and meet sexy boy Jace Wayland, her whole life changes. She learns her mother has been keeping dark secrets from her all her life. Clary is now thrown into the world of Shadowhunters, Nephilim who rid the world of Demons and keep the Downworlders in check.

So much thought was put in when writing this story and you can definitely tell. Clare gave us a whole other world to explore and devoure. I felt like I was watching a movie the whole time as I was reading and it almost hurt to put the book down. The characters were so vivid and realistic, you got to know each one of them personally. I loved the little sarcasm remarks throughout the book that swoon-worthy character Jace makes. I was laughing almost every chapter.

Filled with mystery, suspense, humor, romance and action; CITY OF BONES is a book that will have you devouring each page until you are running to your room to pick up the next book!

*Look out for my reviews of CITY OF ASH and CITY OF GLASS!

Friday, November 26, 2010

Pre-order Contest @ Ramblings Of A Teenage Bookworm

Because of the Thanksgiving holiday and  her 1 year anniversary, Ramblings Of A Teenage Bookworm is having a Pre-Order Contest over at her blog! Winner will be able to choose not 1, but 3 upcoming 2011 YA books to pre-order!

Here are just a few choices are upcoming 2011 YA books you can win!

A Touch Mortal
Wither (Chemical Garden, #1)A Need So BeautifulThe Iron Queen (Iron Fey, #3)
Head over to Ramblings Of A Teenage Bookworm now and enter!

Future Favorites #1

I wanted to make up my own little meme for Friday but as it turns out the name 'Friday Finds' already exists so I bring you 'Future Favorites'. Please let me know if there is already a meme like this out there! I'm not trying to copy anyone here :) If you would like to use this meme feel free to use the button below!

Future Favorites will be where I can share some of my favorite upcoming books. And trust me, that list grows every day!


Abandon by Meg Cabot (Scholastic, April 2011)
A Need So Beautiful by (Balzer & Bray, June 2011)
Invincible by Sherrilyn Kenyon (St. Martin's Griffin, March 2011)

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa (Harlequin Teen, February 2011)
Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr (HarperCollins, February 2011)
Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer (Philomel, July 2011)



All Just Glass by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
(Delacorte Books, January 11th, 2011)

Sarah Vida has given up everything for love. From a legendary family of vampire-hunting witches, Sarah was raised to never trust a vampire, to never let her guard down, and to avoid all tricky attachments of the heart. But now Sarah IS a vampire—changed by the boy she thought she loved. Her family has forsaken her, and Sarah herself is disgusted by her appetite for blood.
Aida Vida is Sarah's older sister, the good, reliable sibling who always does her family proud. But when Aida's mother insists that Sarah be found and killed, Aida is given the one assignment that she may not be able to carry out.
Taking place over just twenty-four hours, ALL JUST GLASS tells the story of a game-changing battle that will forever change the world of the Den of Shadows. And at its center is the story of two sisters who must choose between love and duty. Dark, fully-imagined, and hard to put down, ALL JUST GLASS will thrill Amelia's fans—old and new.

Why it's favorite of the day - I absolutly LOVE Amelia Atwater-Rhodes! And this book looks like it is going to be great like her other ones. Look at that cover too! The models are pretty.

Thursday, November 25, 2010

Book Review: NIGHTSHADE by Andrea Cremer

Author: Andrea Cremer
Pages: 454
Publisher: Philomel
Release Date: October 19th, 2010
Genre: Young Adult
Rating: 5 stars!

Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she;ll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?

I absolutely love this book! Despite being more than 500 pages, I ended up finishing it in two sitting. I just couldn't put it down! It was one of those books that after you finish, you clutch it to your chest for awhile. :)
When I first heard about NIGHTSHADE, I admit I was a little iffy because there seem to be a lot of werewolf Young Adult books nowadays. After I finished reading it however, I can say that it has a truly unique premise. The NIGHTSHADE world is vastly detailed. It is all so real and vivid, it would make such an amazing movie!

The characters were realistic and you get to know each one personally. Some I loved and some I hated. The love triangle between Calla, Ren and Shay is brilliantly done and the author gave different things to love about both Ren and Shay. I still don't know which swoon-worthy guy I want Calla to be with!

Everything about NIGHTSHADE is beautiful, even the cover! It is definitely one of my favorite covers of 2010! Look at all that purple! Andrea Cremer is definitely talented and it's hard to fathom that this is just her debut novel!
NIGHTSHADE will have you devouring every last page and desperately wanting the next installment after reading the cliffhanger ending. It has everything a great book should have; action, romance, suspense, drama, and mystery. I highly recommend this book to everyone!

Let the book blogging begin!

Hello blogging world! I bring you Ecstatic Book Reviews - a YA book review blog! I am new around blogger but definitely not new around the reading world. Here's to many more days of doing what I love the best, talking about books!

I hope you stick around! :)